The writing year in review, and plans for 2019

Dear friends,

Here we are at the end of 2018. It’s been a challenging year for many of us, and also a year of tremendous achievements for many of us. I invite you to use the comments on this post to share your writing accomplishments and talk about what you have planned for the coming year.

This year I joined Get Your Words Out. (If you’ve enjoyed my GYWO posts, please consider signing up yourself! It’s totally free and you get to join a great community of motivated writers, with multiple posts a week full of useful advice. If you like Story Hospital, you’ll love GYWO.) I pledged to do fiction writing (or directly related tasks) on 120 calendar days, and I just barely made it: today, December 31st, was day #120. Over the course of those 120 days, I wrote 61,586 words of fiction in 33 stories, ranging from 300 to 16,000 words. My informal wordcount goal was 50k and I’m astonished that I blew past it so comprehensively.

I’m pledging 120 days again for 2019, and hoping to manage less of a feast-or-famine approach; I logged two fiction-writing days from May through August, and 74 from October through December, which has been really exhausting. I’m also contemplating what I’ve learned about myself from making and meeting that pledge, and how to apply some of those lessons to the non-writing hobbies I’ll be pursuing next year.

Please join me in celebrating all your writing and revising and publishing milestones from 2018, no matter how big or how small. What are you proud of? What did you learn? How will you build on it? And if you’re looking for a particular type of help or support or collaboration, mention that too; maybe someone else here is just the person you need.

Thank you so much for all your support in 2018. Here’s to a healthy, happy, fruitful year to come.

Cheers,

Story Nurse

Leave a Reply